The country's $111 billion mutual banking segment represents more than 4 million Australians. As of February 2019, there were over 20 mutual banks in Australia. Operating under APRA supervision, member-owned sector has powerful track record of stability and customer satisfaction. Here is a list of mutual or customer-owned banks operating in Australia.

Australian Military Bank provides banking products and services to more than 50,000 customers through over 30 locations.

Bank Australia (formerly bankmecu) - One of the leading mutual banks in Australia, with more than $5.5 billion in assets and $4.5 billion in deposits.

BankVIC (formerly Police Credit Union VIC) - One of the largest mutual banks in the state of Victoria, with around 111,000 members.

Beyond Bank Australia (formerly Community CPS Australia) - One of the country's largest mutual banks with operations in South Australia, New South Wales, Western Australia and the Australian Capital Territory.

Bank of us (a trading name of B&E Ltd) - A customer owned bank in Tasmania.

Defence Bank (formerly Defence Credit Union) - A member owned bank headquartered in Melbourne, Victoria.

Endeavour Mutual Bank Ltd (formerly Select Encompass Credit Union)

Gateway Bank Ltd (formerly Gateway Credit Union)

Greater Bank (formerly Greater Building Society)

G&C Mutual Bank (formerly SGE Credit Union) - A customer owned institution based in Sydney, New South Wales.

Hume Bank (formerly Hume Building Society)

Heritage Bank (formerly Heritage Building Society), headquartered in Toowoomba (the state of Queensland), is the largest mutual bank in Australia.

IMB Bank (previously Illawarra Mutual Building Society) - A mutual financial institution with over 180,000 customers and 550 employees.

QT Mutual Bank (formerly Queensland Teachers Credit Union) was rebranded to RACQ Bank in October 2017.

QBANK (the trading name of QPCU Limited)

Qudos Bank (formerly Qantas Credit Union)

P&N Bank (formerly Police & Nurses Credit Society) - The largest mutual bank in Western Australia. It serves more than 100,000 customers across the state.

Police Bank (formerly NSW Police Credit Union), founded in 1964, serves Police and Department of Home Affairs families, as well as Tasmanian communities. Bank of Heritage Isle is the new trading name for Tasmania operations.

Regional Australia Bank - A customer-owned organization with presence in the New England, North West, Orana, Central West and the Hunter regions.

Teachers Mutual Bank (previously NSW Teachers Credit Union)

UniBank – A division of Teachers Mutual Bank.

Unity Bank Ltd was formerly known as Maritime, Mining & Power Credit Union.

Victoria Teachers Ltd (trading as Bank First) was previously known as Victoria Teachers Mutual Bank (formerly Victoria Teachers Credit Union).